Where I ‘m From

I am from Tube Televisions,

from Nacho Cheese Doritos and a single flavor of Mt. Dew.

I am from the crowded rooms

(Deafening, sweltering

which reeked of cigarette smoke.)

I am from the English Yew

the Rhubarb

both deadly by nature,

yet they never hurt a soul.

I’m from Thanksgiving dinners and the eye color brown,

from James and Donna.

I’m from the constantly cursing

and drunk,

from do your homework

and apply yourself.

I’m from Catholicism,

although my personal belief lies more in sight.

I’m from Rochester and mixed from the world,

corned beef and homemade meatballs.

From the grandfather who fought in the war,

and the grandmother he met during it.

Upon a cluttered desk

lie albums depicting the past.

Grown in chaos, a terror of a child.

Matured as an introvert, analytical of mind.

Leave a comment